Welcome!

Welcome!

Hello!

For those of you reading this who are new to NaSTA, we are the National Student Television Association, a volunteer-led organisation dedicated to supporting and representing student television stations all over the UK. For those new to student television, we define it as video content produced by students, for students, within an organised society or group at an institute of higher education. Anyway, the new NaSTA year has begun, and with it, a (sort of) new team has taken office! The NaSTA executive officers are elected volunteers whose role is to facilitate the running of the association and achievement of its goals. The team this year is comprised of:

Chair: Mia Obertelli
mia.obertelli@nasta.tv or chair@nasta.tv
@NaSTA_Chair

Development Officer: Catherine Darcy
catherine.darcy@nasta.tv or development@nasta.tv
@NaSTA_Dev

Marketing Officer: Mitchell Perry
mitchell.perry@nasta.tv or marketing@nasta.tv
@NaSTA_Marketing

Technical Officer: Rob Sumner
rob.sumner@nasta.tv or technical@nasta.tv
@NaSTA_Technical

We will be working throughout the year with our team of officers to help you within your station and to set you up for when you leave it, whatever you want to do. NaSTA returners, we hope that you’ve already benefited from NaSTA in a multitude of ways; this year, we want to go even further to improve your experience and develop the association so that you can get even more out of it.

There are lots of exciting things coming up this year already, so keep an eye out for more information about Freshers TV in the next few weeks, and save the date for our annual Conference and Awards Weekend, which will be held in Lancashire over the 27th, 28th, and 29th of March 2015. PSTV (the station of the University of Central Lancashire) and LA1:TV (the University of Lancaster’s station) will be jointly hosting the weekend in Preston. We will be publishing our plans for the year soon, so that you know what we’re up to and can let us know your thoughts, but in the meantime – and of course throughout the year – if you have any student-TV-related questions, problems, or suggestions, or you just fancy a chat, please get in touch! We’d also love to hear more about your station and your plans for the year, so drop us an email and let us know! Make sure you like the Facebook page too!

If you’re an alumnus, we want to hear from you too! Give us a shout and tell us what you’re up to – whether you continued on into the TV industry or if you followed a different path, and don’t forget that you’re automatically a part of our alumni network, PaSTA! You can find the relevant groups on social media here:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/nastaalumni

https://www.facebook.com/PaSTAUK?fref=ts

LinkedIn: http://linkd.in/1jUgXsD

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NaSTAAlumni

@NaSTAAlumni

You can also get in touch with our dedicated Alumni Officer for the year, Matt Capon, at alumni@nasta.tv for more information.

We’ll be at the NUS Student Media Summit on the 21st August so if you’re about, come and check us out! If you haven’t done already, you can register to attend here: https://www.regonline.co.uk/Register/Checkin.aspx?EventID=1557979
It’s a great opportunity to meet people and open discussion, so come along if you can make it!